Palace of Westminster (House of Parliment)

The Palace of Westminster, located in the city of Westminster in the United Kingdom, was the main royal residence for figures in history such as Henry VIII and Edward the Confessor. After a fire destroyed much of the complex in 1512 it served as the home of Parliament and is the central seat of government even today.  The palace contains two houses of parliament, the House of Lords and the House of Commons. At the north end stands the famous Big Ben clock, also known as the clock tower.  

A fire ravaged the palace in 1834, destroying most of the building. Architects Augustus Welby Pugin and Sir Charles Barry were in charge of its redesign in which they used Perpendicular Gothic style. One of the oldest parts of the building is Westminster Hall which dates back to 1097.

Palace of Westminster (Houses of Parliment)

Useful facts:

  • Construction began in the 11th century
  • Located at the banks of River Thames
  • Has three main towers; Victoria Tower, Clock Tower and Central Tower
  • Contains over 1,100 rooms
  • Contains 100 staircases and 4/8 km of passageways spread over 4 floors
  • Redesign after the fire started in 1840 and lasted for thirty years

Architecture Styles: